Current Serving Governors

Current Serving Governors:
Name Category Responsibility Term of Office Pecuniary Interest Date of Appointment Date Term of Office Ends / Ended
Jane Bush Headteacher N/A Member of Staff N/A N/A
David Stemp Appointed by Directors/LGB Chair of Finance & Resources, Safeguarding Governor 4 years Nil 26/11/2021 26/11/2025
Johannes Wessels Staff 4 years Member of Staff 02/12/2021 02/12/2025
Irene Baldry Appointed by Directors/LGB Chair of Governors, Development & Training Governor, Inclusion Governor, COVID Responsible Governor 4 years Nil 26/11/2021 26/11/2025
Daphne Wright Appointed by Directors/LGB Vice Chair of Governors, Chair of Standards & Curriculum, Inclusion Governor, COVID Responsible
4 years Nil 06/10/2018 06/10/2022
Helen Williams Staff 4 years Member of Staff 01/01/2022 01/01/2026
Sam Parkes Appointed by
Attendance Governor 4 years Member of Trust
10/10/2019 10/10/2023
Jayalakshmi Vinayaka Parent 4 years* Nil 09/11/2021 9/11/25*
*Term of office for parent governors is 4 years or at the end of academic year child leaves school.
Governors who have served in last year:
Holly Thompson Staff 4 years Member of Staff 06/10/2018 31/12/2021
Sharlotte Hughes Appointed by
4 years Nil 25/01/2019 31/08/2022
Caroline Storey Parent 4 years Nil 09/11/2021 31/08/2022
Autumn Term Spring Term Summer Term
Date and type of meeting: 16/9/21 LGB 14/10/21 S&C 2/12/21 F&R 20/1/22 S&C 17/2/22 F&R 24/3/22 LGB 19/5/22 F&R 23/6/22 LGB 14/7/22 S&C
Jane Bush
Johan Wessels AP AP
Irene Baldry
David Stemp AP AP
Holly Thompson AP AP No longer serving as a governor.
Daphne Wright AP AP
Sharlotte Hughes AP AP AP AP
Sam Parkes AP AP AP AP
Jayalakshmi Vinayaka AP
Caroline Storey AP NA NA AP NA NA NA
Helen Williams AP AP
Jennifer Pateman

Governors who have served in last year:

Name Category Term Date Appointed End of Term
Lee Setford Parent 4 years 17/12/2019 10/06/2021
Holly Thompson Staff 4 years 06/10/2018 31/12/2021

Governor Profiles

  • Irene Baldry (Chair of Governors)
    My profession of 30 years has been teaching in schools in Portsmouth. After 15 years as a class teacher I spent a further 15 years as a Headteacher. Having retired from the latter position in August 2015, I am privileged to have been appointed Chair of Governors at Langstone Junior School and offer a lifelong career in education to the performance of this role. My aim is to use my knowledge, skills and experience in education to lead the Board of Governors in best serving and supporting the school community. Mrs. Bush, the Headteacher, has been a respected teaching colleague for a number of years. I believe that our mutual respect and understanding will assist us in maximising the effectiveness of the teaching / governing relationship. One of my immediate goals is to improve the effectiveness of the work we do as governors in the interests of pupils, staff and all stakeholders in the community. The overall goal is, by working as a team, to make Langstone Junior School a school of excellence where all pupils thrive and reach their full potential.
  • David Stemp
    I have been a school governor for Langstone Junior School since January 2002. My current role is Chairman of the Safeguarding and Learning Committee which meets about twice a term. I fully support the school's vision, and I am ambitious for the children to continue to make progress in their learning to become fully rounded citizens as they develop 'self-belief' and experience life skills. It is my pleasure to lead the after school chess club, which is a popular weekly activity which strengthens the pupils strategic thinking and is FUN. My interests focus on family, scouting, reading and music.
  • Daphne Wright
    I have been extremely fortunate to have spent 43 years in teaching, the last 17 being in Portsmouth schools, and education continues to be my passion. I spent many years as a class teacher and a senior leader before being appointed as a Deputy Headteacher in a large Primary school. I held this post for 10 years before retiring in July 2018. It has been a privilege to have worked alongside both your Headteacher, Jane Bush, as well as the Chair of Governors, Irene Baldry. I feel that after working closely together for many years, this professional understanding will enhance my effectiveness as part of the governing body. I hope to bring my experience and expertise in education to the table and support the aims of the school, staff and the Academy to ensure that we, as the governing body, work hard to achieve the very best for everyone in the school community.